The Tequila Den

Combines the world of Tequila with Games.

I’m a terrible artist…

I’ve known that I’m terrible at art for a pretty long time. I have a few issues with regarding pixel art. I’m indecisive as hell. I’ll rework the same few pieces countless times before I leave them alone, but then I’ll go back and hack them up again. I’m also pretty sad when it comes to color picking, there are a few go to colors I like to use and I just try and hash it together to make it somewhat…. nice. One other thing, I just don’t get enough practice. All of it is mainly my own fault, but it stems down to my indecisive nature. If I sat down and had a plan (which I definitely need more of), I could attempt more and get better.

I should also mention that I have a problem with shading/texture. My original plan for the game is to have a ‘clean’ look. So, lack of dithering and all that crap is going to be non-existent, for now. I truly understand this is going to hamper the look of the game, and will indeed turn people off of what I’m going for. However, this is my thinking, I see too many indie games (RPG Maker) that are either square-y or have a terrible mismatch of tiles. I’m hoping to avoid such a thing with everything having my own style.

Here’s where I’m at, yes, it’s not much, but there’s more going on under the hood and other prep that this screen doesn’t show.

The sprite is animated and can walk around freely. Now we’ll talk about the key things missing from the area. First obviously is the clutter and ‘decorations’ that fill up the rooms and such. Next is the obstructions and collisions. Of course the menu displays/HUD are also missing, but here’s my arguments for lack of showing at the moment. Remember my indecisiveness? That’s playing a key role at the moment.

So, for the menu I’m stuck between two ideas at the moment. A fast, easy inter-changeable items al-a Metal Gear Solid type (when you use the bumper buttons to navigate through your inventory), or a traditional, press the escape button and full up menu displays with different categories. The main reason I’m tipping towards the latter is that I can limit the number of required keys to be used. If I go with the former (MGS style), I’ll need to activate two additional keys. I’ve toyed with the idea of only using one action button, but it’s just that, toying around with the idea.

Can someone kill my indecisive nature?

Leave a Reply

