The Tequila Den

Combines the world of Tequila with Games.

So its been a quick week…

So that week went by a lot quicker than I had first imagined. I actually think I’ve opened up my laptop nearly everyday this past week to try and progress Mouse. Some nights I’ve succeeded and others I’ve been a bit like a goldfish. Either way, I’ve accomplished seven ‘tasks’. And here they are…

1. The first playable area has been decided and is roughly mapped.
2. “Dying Light” style night and day system, Minutes are hours, seconds are minutes.
3. Books/Documents can create skills/recipes.
4. merchants can supply materials and provide services from materials.
5. products of recipes/crafting can be either un-done or permanent.
6. Shops/NPCs are only available during their work hours.
7. I made a bat imagine… like baseball bat.  bat

I’m currently in the process of creating the inventory GUI and making it as clean/minimal and friendly as possible to the player. I’m a bit torn between the idea of an interactive Metal Gear Solid menu (for ease and speed of switching) and old school Zelda style. The main problem I’m having with these are the fact that your backpack could have all sorts of materials in it. From what I’ve got planned, the types of materials is going to be somewhat large, so some form of scrolling menu is best. I’ve toyed with the idea of creating a Diablo style inventory as well, but I want to stray away from mouse support and be more of a classic game-pad type of game play. I’ll continue pissing around with menu ideas and I’ll definitely tinker with as the game progresses. I always feel the menu should come a bit later when the game is a little more polished and you can see what the player wants/needs to see rather than the game dictating it. I’m more or less creating a starting point to modify as the game matures.

(although it’s basically a teen now, a very immature teen….)

I hope to bring you a nice little rash of updates again soon. 7/30 complete!

 

Leave a Reply

