The Tequila Den

Combines the world of Tequila with Games.

So I learned Ruby.

Now I’m all messed up trying to figure out if it’s “learned” or “learnt” now. Shit. I really don’t care.

Anyway, I found Codecademy about a week or so ago, special thanks to Stumble-upon. I promptly scoured the site and tried my luck refreshing my HTML skills to begin with. Then it dived in some CSS. I really wished I got into CSS beforehand because wow, it is really simple stuff. Would of made my life a lot easier when I was running the newsletter section of rpgmaker.net, as well as my own site before that time, (new)rpg-haven. Yeah, I’ve been around for some time now.

So I blazed through those two sections and I thought about hitting up the Javascript section, but then got thinking, how hard could Ruby be? I’ve enjoyed looking through forums of people having issues with RGSS (RPGMaker’s scripting language, which is basically Ruby with their own API), and I look at their code and go… I understand what is going on, but I’m just not familiar with that API. So I said fuck it. Ruby here we go.

I jumped in both feet wet and climbed up to about 40% completion. And, in about four days later, I finished the course. It’s a beginner course, so it is not difficult and they take it pretty slow. It’s meant so everyone can do it. I also have to admit, it didn’t really take me four days, I basically did about 4 hours straight the first day, then about an hour at most the next following three days. So, its not like thumbing through a large textbook.

So what’s next? I have no idea. I don’t know what to do it with it now. I’m thinking that after I release the Sphere version of Traders, I’m going to work on a Ruby/Web or maybe I’ll skip over to HTML5/JavaScript thing. I really don’t know what is in store just yet.

I’m going to head back to CA and head down the JavaScript course just to help sharpen my skills there and make sure I’m not developing any terrible habits, though I’m sure I have some and it doesn’t hurt to get better. I’ve made great strides in the few years I’ve been doing some good scripting.

So have I done anything productive? Hmmm…. I’m going to go with no. I’m at such a mental roadblock with mouse that I just don’t really know what I’m doing any more. I have no desire to really work on it. I did however pick up Traders again though. I’ve been more focussing on MapMaker as opposed to the game itself. I’ve added the reset map button and working on the ports now, should be relatively easy to finish… I hope. Lots of features to add into it yet though. I’ve also started to mould out the client a bit more now, it now asks for account name, password and server at once, rather than just putting your name on the first screen, then server afterwards. It’s getting closer to the final product.

2 responses to “So I learned Ruby.

  1. tarau June 6, 2014 at 10:16 am

    Codecademy is a great dojo for code daily practicing! Since you are into HTML/CSS I would start practicing JavaScript since these three technologies make up the most popular trio for web design. JavaScript is the hottest web language right now. Good luck!

    • Mike/Defiant June 7, 2014 at 2:16 pm

      I’m already quite familiar with Javascript, just not the ties it has with HTML. Soon enough though, thanks ‘tarau’.

Leave a Reply

