The Tequila Den

Combines the world of Tequila with Games.

Slaving in the Hive…

I’ve been a little busy bee as of late. I’ve done a lot of work lately on Catan and I’m really starting to see the fruits of my labor. But then, I decided to write a little more detailed ‘to-do’ list and then I started to see all the things I’ve yet to do.

Instead though, I’m going to plow through what you can now do with the Server/Client interaction. As expressed before you can place roads, settlements and cities provided you have the resources, but now I re-fined that and now you have to actually have the pieces to place them. I also double checked to make sure you were able to make a legal move with that piece, so you won’t be stuck in hiatus trying to place something you have nowhere to place. I plan on adding an escape key/button to allow you change your mind.

With cities and settlements come victory points. Now you’re able to see how many points your opponents have and updated as soon as it happens, “([points]) Player_Name” fashion. I’ve also started working on using the development cards, currently you can play a soldier card to invoke the robber and steal resources from your opponents, if there is more than one opponent connected to that resource, you can choose who you rob. This also applies to playing the robber when a “7” is rolled. I’ve also put the cap in when you have an excess of 7 cards in your hand you must discard half of your hand, this is finished. It will also wait to make sure all players have discarded their cards before you’re able to place the robber.

You can now play victory points as well. I’ve sectioned off a part to show your table cards, this will display any soldiers or victory points you’ve played, as soon will show if you have the longest road and/or the largest army.

The neatest thing I’ve added in is a debug console for the server, so I can check variables, run functions and keep an internal log of what’s going on, rather than clogging a print function.

The plan is to make little versions of the soldiers/victory point cards for the other players’ display, Then I’m going to work on trading and fiddle with that as that will be a bit of an undertaking. I’m also going to work at the other player’s display a bit, I want to add in all players and have a way of seeing who’s turn it is a bit easier. I have a ton of notifications to do yet, but I’m slowly kicking stuff off the to-do list.

I fixed a bunch of minor bugs as well, mainly a few minor oversights that would of been caught eventually, but sooner the better. Good news though, I’m fairly certain I squashed the server re-rolling bug that I’ve been having. Should be finally OK now.

No new images, I was too lazy to take one, maybe next time.

Leave a Reply

