The Tequila Den

Combines the world of Tequila with Games.

Its been a long day…

So Saturday night I decided to dabble in the world of alcohol, I fought an epic battle, and in the end I died. I woke up with a mild headache and hunger for thirst. In all this, I decided to sit down, and be lazy. All day. It was wonderful.

The main thing I did was really explore the idea of an alternate means of creating games, I fell into ROM hacking. I won’t go into specifics but my idea behind it was this, why not use an engine/means that was designed for that particular purpose. Bring the NES’ “Legend of Zelda” and SNES’ “Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past”. I basically played around and searched around, read article after article about ROMs, editing them and changing them. Here I thought it was a challenge to script in Sphere, Hex editing and level editing for a ROM, that’s something else. Yes I guess the entire engine and mechanics would already be laid out but, thus mechanics would be awfully hard to modify, unless I learn a great deal of both hex editing, C and ASM. Which would be great in the long haul as I’m totally for it. But I think Sphere would be do a better job for what  I want right now. I will dabble into this world in the future, possibly with something smaller (graphic editing or minor adjustments) at a later date.

What’s the plan then? I’m going to fire up Sphere and start scripting away with a dummy map. Add in all the game play mechanics while on the side I’m going to be doing layout designs for the areas of the game. So when I finish this entry I will either be plugging away in Sphere or I’ll be sleeping. We’ll see who wins.

Cherrio.

Leave a Reply

